Public Holidays

Curtin University Malaysia Public Holidays for year 2024 according to the gazetted holidays observation by the State Government of Sarawak & Federal Government of Malaysia.

Public Holidays 2023

2024 Public Holidays Observed
by Curtin University Malaysia

No. Dates Days Holidays
1 1 January Monday New Year’s Day
2 10 February Saturday 1st Day of Chinese New Year
3 11 February Sunday 2nd Day of Chinese New Year
4 12 February Monday Chinese New Year (in lieu)
5 29 March Friday Good Friday
6 10 April Wednesday 1st Day of Hari Raya Puasa*
7 11 April Thursday 2nd Day of Hari Raya Puasa*
8 1 May Wednesday Labour Day
9 22 May Wednesday Wesak Day
10 1 June Saturday 1st Day Of Hari Gawai Dayak
11 2 June Sunday 2nd Day Of Hari Gawai Dayak
12 3 June Monday Birthday Yang Di-Pertuan Agong
12 4 June Tuesday 2nd Day Of Hari Gawai Dayak (in lieu)
13 17 June Monday Hari Raya Qurban
14 7 July Sunday Awal Muharram
15 8 July Monday Awal Muharram (in lieu)
16 22 July Monday Sarawak Independent Day
17 31 August Saturday Malaysia Independence Day
18 16 September Monday Malaysia Day and Birthday of Nabi Muhammad S.A.W
19 12 October Saturday Birthday Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak
20 25 December Wednesday Christmas Day

Last updated on 23 April 2024.


  • Campus will be closed on the above days.
  • Curtin Malaysia will observe all gazetted public holidays in 2024.
  • No substitute holiday is automatically granted on the next working day for the overlap of Public Holidays for the year 2024.